Sorry, Seahawks, your time has passed. Seattle is Husky town

Uncle Si

Reaction score
No, no it's not.

It is nice to see the Husky's starting to regain some foothold of relevance in the college football world though.

getnasty

Reaction score
Yeah until UW gets spanked week 1 and the Hawks look good against Denver.

drrew

Reaction score
As a UW employee and big Husky fan, I can state emphatically that even on campus, more people are Seahawk fans vs UW football fans and it's not very close.

OP
OP
D

DomeHawk

drrew":3afkj6k4 said:
As a UW employee and big Husky fan, I can state emphatically that even on campus, more people are Seahawk fans vs UW football fans and it's not very close.

Perhaps, but in 80's and 90's it was just the opposite. Things change.

kobebryant

Reaction score
As a Washington grad I get the excitement. But the alumni base and student body of a given institution is only so big, and I can't foresee it overtaking the only NFL team in the region. At least not in the south anyway.

OP
OP
D

DomeHawk

kobebryant":p0r9x673 said:
As a Washington grad I get the excitement. But the alumni base and student body of a given institution is only so big, and I can't foresee it overtaking the only NFL team in the region. At least not in the south anyway.

I don't know how old you are but the Huskies didn't depend on the alumni and student body for their fan base. The alumni will always be fans no matter what, but the Huskies in the DJ era had more non-alumni fans that alumni.

That isn't to say that you can't be fans of both teams but the team that is vying for championships is always going to be more popular.

Here's an article that breaks it down:

https://www.seattletimes.com/sports/sea ... -seahawks/

Uncle Si

Reaction score
Seattle could be 5-9 heading into that final games this year while the Huskies line up against Bama in the Playoff and the Seahawks would still draw more attention.