Other teams have learned how to attack the Cover 3 defense!

ExBassGuide

Reaction score
I am no pro at understanding defenses or even offense schemes.
But over the last two games Seattle has had three touch downs scored on them and the receivers have been WIDE OPEN! Seattle has been running cover three a lot over the last three years. So why now are they having problem with coverage lately? It looks like they are not covering or passing off receivers well in the area between Safeties and cover corners. It should not take too long for Pete to adjust and run practice drills to patch this up! Did anyone see this and see the same thing I’m seeing? Seattle lost the last two games because of this cover three break down!
Thanks!

Roger

brimsalabim

Reaction score
Yes we saw it. The announcers saw it and there are film clips posted on the board of it. Who knows if Pete Co. will address this though. They still haven't admitted to their being any issues to fix.

This was actually pointed out last season but our pass rush rarely let the QB hold the ball long enough for it to open up.

OP
OP
ExBassGuide

ExBassGuide

Reaction score
It's good to see the team is not getting blown out of the games. just a few thing to work on and we will be fine! We could still make the playoffs and make a deep run! I may be a band wagon fan but I also have faith! In Pete we trust!
Go hawks!

Roger

bmorepunk

Reaction score
Cover 3 has weaknesses. Hopefully they'll use one of those defenses that doesn't have any weaknesses.

hawkfan68

Reaction score
Another problem is that the pass rush was virtually non-existent in the second half. They got pressure on Newton early but it disappeared late, especially in the 4th quarter. I wonder if moving to a basic 46 defense scheme may help. I think the Seahawks have the talent to use this defense effectively. This may also generate more pass rush than they have been getting (at least more consistent pass rush). This is an article I found on 46 defense -