Marshawn Lynch Cap question???

jammerhawk

Reaction score
So at present the team has placed Lynch on the 'reserved retired' list. He presently costs the team his prorated remaining bonus of $5 mil for the next season. The team seems to be willing to take that cap hit of $5 mil for this season instead of splitting it over 2 seasons, reducing but prolonging the cap impact. He is still technically under contract and technically he could be required to pay back the prorated bonus as he hasn't finished his contract. It appears the team won't pursue that bonus money, but that could change.

I'm not a cap expert but would appreciate understanding where the team would be at if Lynch decided he actually wasn't retiring. Could someone who is cap knowledgeable please inform us what the cap consequences would be to the team if Lynch forced the team to deal with him? Could he force a trade?

Basis4day

Reaction score
I would presume that if Lynch wasn't retiring, his cap implications would revert back to the terms of his contract.

If he is available and shows up to the team facility for training camp he has a 9 million dollar base salary (Not Guaranteed). and 2.5 million of his signing bonus to account for making his cap number 11.5 million dollars.

onanygivensunday

Reaction score
If Marshawn were to show up at TC, the Hawks would likely cut him... and (I believe) they would have to spread his $5M dead money hit over this year and next year at $2.5M/year... because he would e a post-June 1st cut.

Sgt. Largent

Reaction score
June 1st is kinda the mason dixon line of decision for the Hawks.

http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/20 ... ague-year/

If Lynch refuses to retire before June 1st, then the balls in the Hawks court on whether they want to cut him and pro-rate his salary 2.5M per year, etc...............or keep him on the roster and carry his entire 11.5M salary in 2016.