Seahawks.NET AMAZON STOREFRONT

Sciency stuff...Mars plans being announced tonight 9/28...

The Lounge is for non-sport-related topics other than politics, war and religion. Order up your favorite beverage, kick back and enjoy the conversation! LANGUAGE RATING: PG-13
  • SpaceX's Elon Musk, Lockheed Martin Announcing Updated Mars Plans Tonight

    Both companies will do so at the 68th International Astronautical Congress (IAC) in Adelaide, Australia. First up is Lockheed, which will announce updates to its "Mars Base Camp" concept at 6 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT; 7:30 a.m. Friday local Adelaide time). You can watch the presentation via Australia's Science Channel.

    Then, at 12:30 a.m. EDT Friday (0430 GMT; 2 p.m. Adelaide time), SpaceX founder and CEO Elon Musk will reveal changes to the company's Mars-colonization architecture, which Musk first announced last year at the 67th IAC in Mexico. [SpaceX's Interplanetary Transport for Mars in Images]

    "Major improvements & some unexpected applications to be unveiled on Friday at @IAC2017 in Australia," he said via Twitter Monday (Sept. 25).


    Website is a little hinky, sorry. ;)
    Talent can get you to the playoffs.
    It takes character to win when you get there.

    SUPER BOWL XLVIII CHAMPIONS
    User avatar
    sutz
    USMC 1970-77
     
    Posts: 16874
    Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:41 am
    Location: Kent, WA


  • It does sound quite intriguing, especially with Lockheed Martin involved. There's been a few of these privatized spacecraft/exploration companies that ended up going under after taking in millions from local counties- It happened in Texas. With Lockheed, the project will have a chance at realization.

    This thread also made me reminisce of the now defunct Disney World experience "Mission to Mars!" as a kid. I imagine this would be a little more exciting.
    User avatar
    West TX Hawk
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 1602
    Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:24 am




It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:14 am

Please REGISTER to become a member

Return to [ THE .NET LOUNGE ]




Information
  • Who is online
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests