Seahawks.NET AMAZON STOREFRONT

Files lost after drive format/reinstall Windows 10 panic

The Lounge is for non-sport-related topics other than politics, war and religion. Order up your favorite beverage, kick back and enjoy the conversation! LANGUAGE RATING: PG-13
  • Actually beyond panic, because surely I'm out of luck. Did a PC Reset with Win 10 as I was having severe and bizarre problems, chose to keep personal files (no idea how Win 10 does this, or how reliably). I'm VERY new to Win 10, and have never tried to reinstall it before), but still had same problems with computer. Decided I didn't know what to do next.

Took it to shop, and chose their suggested option of format disk/Windows 10 reinstall... BUT stupidly forgot to back up the personal files which Windows 10 supposedly kept on the drive, onto my other hard disk. Stupid of me, i should know better, no excuses.

The shop can theoretically recover data at big cost after disc format, but say that since Win 10 has been reinstalled, my chances of success are very slim, and they say i'd be wasting my money. It's a 256G solid state Intel drive, and they say that even though Win 10 only occupies a small percentage of the disk space, it has assuredly overwritten the files I have lost.

I didn't even know it was possible to recover ANYTHING after a disc format. There's numerous programs that claim to maybe do this when I google it, but does anyone have any experience that any of these actually are worth trying?

In summary, I totally respect what the computer shop says, BUT I just wanted to see if any desperate straws are worth grasping at? I feel stupid asking, but these lost files are photos copied from my wife's iPad, when she got someone to do a factory reset on it (I know nothing of iPads), so it seems they are gone forever.

Thanks... and please don't blast me - I'm doing a perfectly good job of that myself, and DREADING telling her also.
    Aussie Seahawk
    NET Veteran