Painful Band Aid

Hawkinaz

Reaction score
Russel Wilson can be released in 2023 post June 1st with a dead cap hit of $39 million in 2023 and $68 million in 2024

Would you bite the bullet and rip off the band aid instead of waiting for 4 years and let the contract run it’s course. From what has been reported Wilson is the problem/cancer. Keeping Wilson could keep you from getting the coach and free agent players you need to compete

James in PA

Reaction score
I would. If I were the advising Denver ownership, Id tell them that this is probably not what they want to hear but it's best to take our lumps now and move on from RW3. This player is cooked and not good for our culture and no amount of great coaching is going to bring him back to a consistently good QB again.

SantaClaraHawk

Reaction score

Whether that would be by trade or he would be cut, courtesy of OverTheCap):
YearDead money (Cut)Dead money (Trade)
2023$107 million$82 million
2024$85 million$68 million
2025$49.6 million$49.6 million
2026$31.2 million$31.2 million
2027$12.8 million$12.8 million
2028$4.4 million$4.4 million

They won’t find anyone to trade with for 107m. They would have to cut their kicker, Jeudy and half the defense to move on.

Coaches should not consider taking the job if ownership insists on playoff Wilson. He won’t be that because he CANT anymore. It’d be as if you were stuck with Matt Ryan as the immovable piece.

Last edited:

IndyHawk

Reaction score

Whether that would be by trade or he would be cut, the consequences for the Broncos could be astronomical in the coming years (all values pre-June 1, courtesy of OverTheCap):
YearDead money (Cut)Dead money (Trade)
2023$107 million$82 million
2024$85 million$68 million
2025$49.6 million$49.6 million
2026$31.2 million$31.2 million
2027$12.8 million$12.8 million
2028$4.4 million$4.4 million
Now you can spread the dead money between 2 years..Nobody is trading for that contract
forget that part.

Aircrew

Reaction score