Big Red: His role next season

glasgow seahawks

Reaction score
Having now picked up Avril & Bennett and also having Irvin and Clemons on board, what will this mean for the role of Red Bryant on the team?

I know last year we played Red as a sort of hybrid DE. With Clemons on his opposite side. Branch/Mebane/Jones roatiting at DT with Irvin coming into to replace Red on passing downs to bring pass rush.

I am no expert in the varying different techniques of the D-line, and simply understand DE's and DT's and some are good at stopping the run, and some good at pass rush. I have no idea the differecne between 3 tech, 5 tech etc.

I do know playing Big Red at the end was good for the run, but limited our pass rush, and this was a concern/gripe from some on the boards during the season.

My question is how does red fair in the middle playing as a DT? Does he stuff the run? Can he get pressure on the QB in there? I am not sure if we look at Bennett Bryant Mebane Avril as the starting rotation? (with Clem on his return and Irvin used to rotate on partiucalr downs) Does Red stay at end in the current sceheme and thats what we like to play?

Its a very good position we now find ourselves in considering where we where at in Atlanta with only Irvin as a pass rush speciailst, but it does intrigue me what Big Reds role will be, especially if we also re-sign Branch?

Frozenropers

Reaction score
Red will continue to be our run stopping LDE in our base set, as long as he is still a Seahawk and healthy. Hopefully he is able to fully recover from his PF (foot injury) during the offseason.

sutz

Reaction score