Did we have time to run it 4 times??? Media says no...

Tokadub

Reaction score
So I keep hearing every "expert" analyst claim that throwing on 2nd down was in fact a viable strategy because we simply did not have time to run the ball on all 4 downs...

I'll be honest I am not an expert in football although I'm trying my best to have the precise analysis/conclusions whenever I post... I never played football beyond a casual level. But I am a bit OCD... and I do over analyze the heck out of the Seahawks because I love the team...

So can someone who is more experienced and knowledgeable with running the ball during a "hurry up offense situation" give us a definitive answer whether we could of ran the ball 4 times??? Did we really need to throw the ball on 2nd down, or was that just our coaches trying to make an excuse for the worst play call and worst coaching execution in Super Bowl History?

Once again I'm not an expert and I haven't studied specifically how fast the "fast tempo offenses" are able to run plays. But to me it seems like there is no doubt that if our coaches did their job correctly we could of ran 4 rushing plays.

Because I'm not an expert I want to hear other opinions or facts... it seems like every single media guy I've listened to (been listening 24/7 since the game) has been saying we didn't have time to run the ball 4 times. I'm not sure if they are just lazy with their attention to detail or if they are following a dictated narrative straight from the front office of the NFL but to me it seems like every single media guy is wrong and we in fact could of ran it 4 times if we desired to.

Here is my immediate reaction last night to this situation, feel free to debunk my analysis or give it to us straight. I feel like this whole thing is a mess and nobody has really definitively answered this question which in my opinion is extremely important to understanding the magnitude of this coaching error.