Why The Elite Teams Are Elite

byau

Reaction score
Something on my mind with the whole Dan Quinn and coaching search and "do we wait or do we not?" thing going on... not to mention my company's own annual performance review process going on....

Got me thinking:

First, in context, I currently work in a company that spends a huge amount of time and resources on employee development. Besides the normal courses in conflict resolution, anti-trust policies, etc.etc (and I'm a computer engineer), a lot of time is also spent on performance review process and career development.

In reality, win-win for both company and employee. Mutually makes us better

You can probably see where I'm going with this.

The elite teams in the NFL? Hard to argue: Patriots, Packers, Seahawks (sorry Colts fans)

Let's use the "most important" position on the team as an example.

Tom Brady:
* Drafted in the 6th round.
* Rookie season he was a 4th string quarterback (4th string!!)
* This is also Coach Belchick's first year with the Patriots as well.
* Brady started his second season as the 2nd string QB behind Bledsoe.
* Bledsoe goes down with an injury in the 2nd game.
* Brady finishes the season spectacularly with a Pro-Bowl nod.
* In 2002, full of fire, the Patriots were... pedestrian. Finishing 9-7 with no playoffs.
* But in 2003, Brady's second season as starter, the Patriots go on to win the SB.

How can you not attribute this to a lot of patience and foresight by QB and Coach and front office? Who keeps a 4th string QB around anyway? Except seeing potential in that guy and developing him.

Aaron Rodgers:
* He was drafted to serve as a backup to Brett Favre.
* Rodgers ran the scouting team really hard to the point some players complained.
* Rodgers saw it as getting game time reps in
* Coach Mike McCarthy is brought in during Rodgers second year.
* Rodgers, not Favre, attends Mike McCarthy's "Quarterback School" to focus on skills and mechanics as a QB.